This week’s Thursday luncheon speaker, brought to us by June Programs Chairman Judge Calvin Bennett, is Ware County Commission Manager Scott Moye. Scott has served in several county managerial positions in Pierce County and in administrative positions with Ware County and other governments.
Next week Wednesday is 4th of July, the day we celebrate our country’s independence. Honor our founding father’s steadfast faith in creating the Declaration of Independence for thirteen colonies and now fifty states.
Also, five major territories and various minor islands are dependent on the United States for administration. And, a number of states have decriminalized the possession of small amounts of marijuana! Some states are sanctuary governments, is administration’s, authority declining?
Next week Thursday, July 5th, we will have NO Meeting in honor and recognition of our 4th of July celebration. Our GAKAFTW committee pass out/give American flags to young people at the celebration at Bit Tanner Field next to the stadium.
Invite a friend, associate or relative to come to the events.


Waycross Exchange Club’s Annual Installation of Officers and Awards at our noon luncheon banquet.


It’s time to catch up dues! See Treasurer Bill Deason to pay dues owed.
Victoria Highsmith, Waycross Exchange Club Youth of the Year 2017-2018 and winner of Georgia District Youth of the Year competition sent a letter to President Roger Collins saying she was thankful and proud to represent Waycross and all clubs in the District as Georgia Youth of the Year. We paid for her parking and hotel at the convention in Columbus Convention Center. Robert Lindsey, Columbus was very hospitable in helping her maneuver through all the procedures. Victoria Highsmith is a very deserving contestant, humble and achieving youth who will represent us excellently. Major Chris Tatum reminds members that new “Hands Free Law” starts in June with fines coming after July 1st.


Club President Roger Collins presented awards at the Installation Officers and Awards Banquet after Memorial Comments by Ken Carroll: A candle was lit for our deceased members and dedication to former memorial presenter, F. J. Beverly: Tim Williamson (66), Superintendent of Fair Agricultural-livestock area for 17 years. Provided free hay bales for seating at entertainment center. George Washington Farr (92) business owner, Fair worker, ticket taker and public relations, and won Morris Jacobson Brotherhood Award. Ken Bennett’s prayer was read about life’s challenges and victories.

National Conductor Club Certificates for members obtaining new members District pins: Will Higginson, Mary Barnes, and Roger Collins who were unable to attend former presentation from Sidney Blanton, District President.

  • Ben Thornton Congenitally Award – Robbie Roberson.
  • M. C. Thomas Outstanding Fair Worker Award – Scott Hill.
  • Erin W. Johnson Outstanding Community Service Award – Al Jacobson for leading Blood Donation events.
  • Exchangite of the Year Award – Tommy Moore for all his work. Special Awards for Service Recognition
  • Jim Arnold for fair night parking every night
  • Jonathan Daniell award for many hours worked
  • Jimmy White for countless hours worked all year
  • Bill Deason for many hours worked
  • Wayne Kilmark for relentless pursuit of meeting data in Red Coater

Accomplishments: new ticket booth by Wayne Coleman, FFA and food booth repairs, new roof in arena, highest Fair attendance in history, done what’s best for the club!

Unity for Service

Our Motto - Unity for Service
The motto was adopted in 1917.
Its originator, Charles Berkey,
said the motto was inspired
by the 133rd Psalm, which says
“Behold how good and pleasant
it is for brethren to dwell
together in unity.”

Click the Red Coater icon directly to the right to get an on-line copy of our Red Coater newsletter